



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Ayesha Verrall	Portfolio	Research, Science and Innovation
Title of	Oral Item: Project Tāwhaki	Date to be	27 July 2023
Cabinet paper	Update	published	

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
24 May 2021	Oral Item: Project Tāwhaki Update	Cabinet Office	

Information redacted

NO

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's and MFAT's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Business Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Oral Item: Project Tāwhaki Update

Portfolio Research, Science and Innovation

On 24 May 2021, the Cabinet Business Committee:

- 1 **noted** that in August 2020, Cabinet deferred consideration of the submission *Project Tāwhaki: A Maori-Crown Partnership to Establish Joint Economic and Environmental Interests in Kaitōrete Spit* [CAB-20-MIN-0383];
- 2 **noted** the update on Project Tāwhaki negotiations;
- 3 **invited** the Minister of Research, Science and Innovation to submit a paper to Cabinet on 31 May 2021.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern Hon Grant Robertson Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Dr Megan Woods Hon Chris Hipkins Hon Carmel Sepuloni Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon Poto Williams Hon Stuart Nash Hon Peeni Henare Hon Michael Wood **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet