



COVERSHEET

| Minister | Hon Andrew Bayly | Portfolio | Commerce and Consumer Affairs |
|---------------------------|---|----------------------|----------------------------------|
| Title of Cabinet paper | Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2024 | Date to be published | 17 July 2024 |

| Date | Title | Author |
|-------------|--|---|
| May 2024 | Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2024 | Office of the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs |
| 30 May 2024 | Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2024 | Cabinet Office |
| | LEG-24-MIN-0117 Minute | |

Information redacted NO

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2024

Portfolio Commerce and Consumer Affairs

On 30 May 2024, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- **noted** that in March 2024, the Cabinet Expenditure and Regulatory Review Committee agreed to:
 - 1.1 remove the detailed requirements for assessing the affordability of lending to the borrower from the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Regulations 2024 (the Regulations);
 - 1.2 give effect to the decision in paragraph 1.1 above by revoking the substance of the provisions relating to affordability, other than regulation 4AO, from the Regulations;
 - 1.3 revoke redundant COVID-19 exemptions, namely regulations 18D and 18E, from the Regulations;

[EXP-24-MIN-0010]

- 2 **noted** that the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2024 give effect to the decisions in paragraph 1 above;
- noted that section 138(1A) of the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Act 2003 (CCCFA) requires the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (the Minister) before recommending that regulations be made under section 138(1)(ab), to:
 - 3.1 have regard to the purposes of the CCCFA;
 - be satisfied that the exemptions are no longer appropriate because they are now redundant;
- 4 **noted** that section 138(1BA) of the CCCFA provides that the Minister may recommend regulations under section 138(1)(abd) only after consulting the persons or representatives of the persons who the Minister considers will be substantially affected by the regulations;
- 5 **noted** the advice of the Minister that the statutory requirements have been met;

- 6 **noted** that a waiver of the 28-day rule is sought:
 - 6.1 so that regulation 6, which revokes redundant COVID-19-related regulations, can come into force on the day after the date on which the Regulations are notified in the Gazette;
 - on the grounds that regulation 6 will have little or no effect on the public;
- agreed to waive the 28-day rule so that the Regulations can come into force on the day after their notification in the Gazette, with the exception of regulations 4, 5, and 7, which will come into force on 31 July 2024, coinciding with the commencement of amendments to the Responsible Lending Code;
- **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2024 [PCO 26147/4.0].

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon David Seymour

Hon Chris Bishop (Chair)

Hon Dr Shane Reti

Hon Brooke van Velden

Hon Shane Jones

Hon Simeon Brown

Hon Louise Upston

Hon Todd McClay

Hon Tama Potaka

Hon Nicole McKee

Hon Casey Costello

Hon Simon Watts

Hon Andrew Bayly

Hon Scott Simpson, MP

Jamie Arbuckle, MP

Todd Stephenson, MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Leader of the House Office of the Minister of Revenue Officials Committee for LEG