



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Shane Jones	Portfolio	Resources
Title of Cabinet paper	Crown Minerals Amendment Bill - Approval for Introduction	Date to be published	12 November 2024

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
September 2024	Crown Minerals Amendment Bill - Approval for Introduction	Office of Minister for Resources	
19 September 2024	Crown Minerals Amendment Bill - Approval for Introduction	Cabinet Office	
	LEG-24-MIN-0193 Minute		
6 September 2024	Departmental Disclosure Statement – Crown Minerals Amendment Bill	MBIE	

Information redacted

YES

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

- · Legal professional privilege
- Confidential advice to Government
- International relations of the Government of New Zealand

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Crown Minerals Amendment Bill: Approval for Introduction

Portfolio Resources

On 19 September 2024, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- noted that the Crown Minerals Amendment Bill (the Bill) holds a Category 2 priority on the 2024 Legislation Programme (must be passed by the end of 2024);
- noted that on 28 May 2024, Cabinet agreed to amend the Crown Minerals Act 1991 (CMA) to ensure security of gas supply and regulatory efficiency [ECO-24-MIN-0077];
- 3 **noted** that the Bill will:

5

- 3.1 remove the ban on new petroleum exploration outside onshore Taranaki made by the Crown Minerals (Petroleum) Amendment Act 2018;
- 3.2 signal New Zealand is 'open for business' by amending the CMA's purpose statement, introduce an optional Government Policy Statement, allow for different and faster permit allocation methods, and extend the exclusive-use timeframe for existing prospecting datasets;
- 3.3 make adjustments to the petroleum decommissioning regime in a way that does not materially increase risk to the Crown but will provide greater certainty to the sector;
- 3.4 create a new Tier 3 permit for small-scale non-commercial gold mining operations;
- 4 **noted** that the tier status determining provisions in the CMA (sections 2C and 2D) will be amended to accommodate status changes from Tier 2 to Tier 3, but not in the other direction from Tier 3 to Tier 2;

Confidential advice to Government

- 6 **noted** there is a statutory requirement to consult for 40 days on changes to the Minerals Programmes or Petroleum Programmes (the Programmes) with both the public, and iwi and hapū;
- 7 **noted** that the Minister intends to approve the draft Programmes for consultation in late November 2024, and intends for the updated Programmes to be in place by mid-April 2025;

LEGALLY PRIVILEGED : IN CONFIDENCE

LEG-24-MIN-0193

- 8 **noted** that regulations to enable application methods other than public tender for petroleum exploration permits and Tier 3 permits will be developed in parallel to the Bill this year, and gazetted early in 2025;
- approved the Crown Minerals Amendment Bill [PCO 26211/5.0] for introduction, subject to the final approval of the government caucuses and sufficient support in the House of Representatives;
- agreed that the Bill be introduced on 23 September 2024;
- agreed that the Government propose that the Bill be enacted by 19 December 2024.

Tom Kelly Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters (Chair)
Hon Shane Jones
Hon Brooke van Velden
Hon Dr Shane Reti
Hon Mark Mitchell
Hon Tama Potaka
Hon Casey Costello
Hon Nicole McKee
Hon Andrew Bayly
Hon Scott Simpson, MP
Jamie Arbuckle, MP
Todd Stephenson, MP

Officials present from:

Officials Committee for LEG